WhatsApp has several options in the settings that allow us to set different degrees of privacy. But there are some sections of the app that still have a lot to improve to ensure the privacy and security of users.
For example, one of the options that users use to have a margin of protection for the content they share in chats is “send photos and videos that can only be seen once”. This ensures that the content is deleted after the recipient opens the photo or video.
However, WhatsApp warns that this feature cannot prevent people from taking screenshots. So no matter how ephemeral the content is, you can’t control what the recipient will do.
WhatsApp will block screenshots
WhatsApp seems to solve this problem in the latest beta of the Android app. As mentioned in WABetaInfo, WhatsApp will no longer allow screenshots to be taken when using the option to share videos and images “that can only be seen once”.
This dynamic seems to work in the beta of WhatsApp for Android for both screenshots and screen recording. So this new dynamics of WhatsApp protects from any action carried out by the recipient on his mobile to preserve the content, although he cannot control if he takes other types of measures.
And of course, keep in mind that this protection is only for the content that is sent under this function, so it does not protect the rest of the chat conversation. At the moment, this new dynamic is only available in the WhatsApp beta and we still don’t know when it will arrive in the stable version.