Some time ago, WhatsApp began to offer an interesting option for chats. We could delete sent messages but not only for us, it would also be deleted for everyone who was present in the conversation. So this would work for both individual and group chats. Yes, leaving a trace. A “here was a message but not anymore” message visible to everyone.
With the passage of updates, WhatsApp has been increasing that time progressively and with somewhat strange and striking times. The last one, the current one, is fixed at 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. Why? Wrong window. But now, the new time finally reaches the beta and multiplies by a lot. Now WhatsApp gives you a full 60 hours to repent of having written that you should not have sent.
WHATSAPP Tricks and tips to HIDE YOURSELF TO THE MAXIMUM and maintain your PRIVACY
The new repentance period: 2 days, 12 hours
As we can see, the new deadline means adding much more time to the current one, which is set at 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds. The reason for that time only WhatsApp knows, but now the 60 hours come from the beta and will soon be available to all users of the application. Now we will have 2 full days and 12 hours the next day to, if we deem it appropriate, delete that message that we should not have sent and that it disappears from all the phones to which it had reached.
This function of deleting messages for everyone, and not just your own, was released on WhatsApp back in 2017 and started with only 7 minutes, another term that did not make much sense even for mathematical purposes. From those initial 7 minutes we go up to 68 minutes and 16 seconds, then to the current hour and 8 minutes and now we will have more than two days. 60 hours in all.
The deletion of the message will keep working as before. When it comes to deleting it, WhatsApp will offer to delete it only for us or for all the participants in the chat (for everyone) and the message “This message has been deleted” will remain in the conversation window. It will be known that there was a message there and that it is no longer there, but its content will never be displayed again.
As we have said, this new change appears already from the beta version of WhatsApp for Android, specifically version 18.104.22.168, and it will not take long to reach the rest of the users of the platform. How long it will take, that is already a mystery. Normally it does not usually take more than a couple of weeks but we will be attentive to when it finally arrives.
Via | WABetaInfo