Google Chrome’s incognito mode is anything but incognito: the browser already warns that it is recording data

0
6
google chromes incognito mode is anything but incognito the browser.webp.webp.webp
google chromes incognito mode is anything but incognito the browser.webp.webp.webp

Opening a tab in incognito mode is a gesture that we all do when we want to leave as little trace as possible of our browsing. But is it really like that? The truth is that no: as it already appears in Google Chrome, the application records the data in the same way.

Browsing anonymously is not only useful when we do not want anyone to see our history, it is also a good way to have two open accounts for a service, For example. To do this, simply access the menu of apps like Google Chrome and select to open an incognito window, a gesture that begins to lead to a new warning: Google was forced to declare how this mode really works.

Google Chrome records the same data in normal and incognito mode

Although we have the idea that browsing supposedly anonymously means that websites do not see our usage data, the truth is that this is not the case: Chrome allows access to browsing data as if it were not anonymous. What’s more, the company itself records all usage data, as is evident in a change that it recently introduced in the browser.

Starting with Google Chrome Canary, the most unstable version of all those in the Play Store, the new incognito mode notice can already be seen when opening one of these windows or tabs. This movement is the result of a lawsuit against Google by little transparency of what is recorded in incognito mode. Apart from making the consequences of navigation very clear, Google fined $5 billion.

Although browsing incognito does not protect against navigation recording, it is true that maintain some privacy. Here’s what this mode entails in Google Chrome:

  • Google saves browsing data the same as if you were not browsing in incognito mode.
  • Websites can track your usage and store your data in the same way as if you were not browsing incognito.
  • Your Internet company and/or the owners of the WiFi network you connect to may know where you browse.
  • Google Chrome does not save your browsing history on the device.
  • Cookies and data information are not recorded on the device.
  • The information you enter in forms is not saved on your device.
  • All the files you download are saved on the device.

The new notice already appears in the most unstable Chrome app and will expand to the rest of the versions until reaching stable Google Chrome in a few weeks. It does not imply any change at the operating level: incognito mode will continue to behave in the same way. Only now the implications are clear.

Cover image | DALL-E 3 in ChatGPT edited

Via | MSPowerUser

Previous articleGoogle admits that incognito mode does collect your user data
Next articleYour Xiaomi mobile is capable of replicating the action button of the iPhone 15 Pro: this is how you can configure it in HyperOS and MIUI 14
Mubashir Hassan
Expert in tech and gaming, blending industry insights with expertise