Google admits that incognito mode does collect your user data

0
11
google admits that incognito mode does collect your user data.webp.webp.webp
google admits that incognito mode does collect your user data.webp.webp.webp

The incognito tab was always a way to avoid tracking online Google Chromealthough It was never entirely clear that using it would work.. Now Google confirms what we suspected: the tracking of your browsing is identical whether you use a normal Chrome tab or if you open one incognito. After a ruling in which Google must pay $5 billionthe clarification already appears in Google Chrome Canary.

We have all assumed that to navigate certain pages, or so that our time on the Internet leaves as little trace as possible, we have to resort to the always welcome incognito mode. To do this, simply open a new anonymous window from the Google Chrome menu. After closing this window, the history is deleted from the device, also navigation cookies and other usage data; which results in more private browsing. Of course, not as much as it should.

Google Chrome Canary now warns that Google shares your user data incognito

 

It is one thing what incognito mode implies and quite another what it actually does with your browsing data, which is exactly what a lawsuit filed in the United States. After losing it, the judges forced Google to specify the true functioning of Google Chrome incognito: the company obtains user data in the same way as when it does not use anonymous browsing.

Google first specified how incognito mode works in the Chrome support page now is forced to specify it in the browser when opening any anonymous window or tab. This notice appeared first in Google Chrome Canary for Android, as they discovered it in MSPowerUser (via Android Police). As we have verified after installing the most unstable version of the browser, the true functioning of incognito mode is evident.

What does Google Chrome’s incognito mode share and what does it not? Let’s see.

  • Google saves browsing data the same as if you were not browsing in incognito mode.
  • Websites can track your usage and store your data in the same way as if you were not browsing incognito.
  • Your Internet company and/or the owners of the WiFi network you connect to may know where you browse.
  • Google Chrome does not save your browsing history on the device.
  • Cookies and data information are not recorded on the device.
  • The information you enter in forms is not saved on your device.
  • All the files you download are saved on the device.

After making clear what is recorded and what is not, in reality There is not much difference between browsing in incognito mode and without it beyond preventing someone else from seeing what pages you visited from that device. For the purposes of the trail you leave on the Internet, anonymity is zero: you don’t care about opening a tab incognito or not.

After appearing in the Canary versions, Google will expand the appearance of the notice to the rest of the beta versions until reaching stable Google Chrome in a few weeks. The clarification will appear whenever you open a new window or tab in incognito.

Previous articleBlackview BL9000: all about the new rugged 5G flagship
Next articleGoogle Chrome’s incognito mode is anything but incognito: the browser already warns that it is recording data
Abraham
Expert tech and gaming writer, blending computer science expertise